Mashed Potato Lasagna

imageOne of my old roommates used to love to eat my cooking and bought me a cookbook long ago as a gift, this was one of her favorite recipes in it and I think of her every time I use the book. Thank you Sherri❤️

image

RECIPE:

9 lasagna noodles

4 to 5 cups of mashed potatoes, seasoned to your taste

2 sweet onions thinly sliced

2 cups of grated white cheddar cheese ( I also have added 12oz. of ricotta cheese to mix with the white cheddar to layer ontop of the noodles, your choice)

1 cup of grated regular yellow cheddar cheese

1 stick of butter

salt and pepper to taste

Prepare 8×10 baking dish with cooking spray. Preheat oven at 375 degrees.

Cook lasagna noodles as directed, rinse slightly and set aside.

In lg. skillet melt butter and sauté onions over med. heat till soft, about 10-15 mins.

Place 3 lasagna noodles in an even layer on bottom of prepared baking dish overlapping noodles.  Layer ½ of total mashed potatoes on top of 1st noodle layer, followed by ½ of the sauteed onions and top with 1 cup of white cheddar (or cheddar cheese mixed with ricotta) Repeat with another layer of lasagna noodles, remaining mashed potatoes, sauteed onions and top with the other cup of white cheddar.

Top lasagna with remaining noodles and 1 cup of regular yellow cheddar cheese.
Bake for 30 to 40 minutes or until hot and bubbly. Let rest about 10-15 mins before cutting. Enjoy!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. run2kar says:

    Talk about “Comfort Food” …… !!!! Delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. awesomesoninlaw says:

    uhem, How come I have ever had this???? After all the years of knowing you, and you knowing my love for mashed potatoes. How could you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. IamDWJ says:

    Hmm…if I can find gluten free lasagna noodles I think Kendell would love this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ilgustodivivere says:

      I don’t know where you are in the world, but if you’re in the US, Heartland do gluten free lasagna and I believe Walmart sells them http://www.walmart.com/ip/Heartland-Gluten-Free-Oven-Ready-Lasagna-Pasta-9-oz/35656906 Hope that helps!

      Like

      1. kmuccigrosso says:

        Thank you I will let my friend know !

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

