Escarole Soup

imageThis simple recipe is an old Italian dish I’ve eaten and loved my whole life!  It’s total comfort food for me and I think I can say that it’s probably my daughter Alicia’s favorite too. ❤️ I heard stories from my grandmother about her childhood long ago when things were tight and there wasn’t a lot of money to go around this simple flavorful inexpensive pasta dish was a staple in their house. Makes me smile😊

RECIPE:

3 tablesp olive oil

5 cloves of garlic, diced

1 lg. head of Escarole greens, cleaned and roughly chopped

1 lb of dried cannellini beans (cooked separately till soft)  OR/ 2  15oz cans of cannellini beans

6 to 8 cups of chicken stock (homemade or store bought)

1 tablesp dried basil

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 lb. Ditalini pasta

Saute Garlic in heated oil till softened in lg stock pot, add chopped escarole stirring constantly till wilted. Once escarole is wilted add chicken stock, beans and seasonings, let simmer for about 1 hr. Taste soup and adjust seasonings if needed to your liking. Meanwhile In another pot cook pasta as directed till soft. Drain slightly and add to soup, let simmer till all blended and hot. Garnish with grated mozzerella cheese, fresh basil and a drizzle of olive oil. Enjoy❤️

Leave a Reply

