A Memory of Aunt Grace’s Turkey Pot Pie

imageimage

Just recently I had a craving for a dish that I haven’t had in a very long time. I was remembering Thanksgivings when I was young, we had a grand Italian Turkey dinner of pasta, soup, bread, cheese and yes a huge Turkey! It was either at our house, my grandmother’s or my uncle & aunt’s, all the food was amazing but My mind always goes back to watching my Dear Aunt Grace making this dish with the turkey leftovers. She called it Turkey Pot Pie and I loved it❤️ I looked forward to it each year, the whole dish was delicious but by far the homemade noodles were my favorite part! So I just decided to try and duplicate it and this is my result, its pretty close…I hope I do your recipe justice Aunt Grace😘

My Recipe: (all the ingredient amts will vary depending on the size you want to make)

The noodles are made with flour,eggs and milk, Kneaded together then rolled out and cut into large squares. The Soup part is made with leftover chopped turkey, chicken/turkey broth, chopped potatoes, carrots, celery & peas. You’ll need to soften veggies in lg. pan with olive oil then add broth and simmer. Meanwhile make pasta noodles and cut into squares then add to broth. Bring to slight boil and let simmer till noodles are soft, season with salt and pepper to taste and let continue to simmer as  the broth thickens. Serve hot with crusty bread so you can soak up all the goodness! Enjoy❤️

2 Comments Add yours

  1. run2kar says:

    Karenskitchen has presented several different “comfort foods” in the past; this is another great example. Delish!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kmuccigrosso says:

    Reblogged this on karenskitchen … Homemade with Love❤ and commented:

    Just recently my lovely Aunt passed away and as I prepare for this Thanksgiving I am once agin thinking of her and this delicious dish😌 In honor of you, my sweet Aunt Grace, I am making your soup for my family this year on the day after❤️ I’m so sorry you were never able to taste my version of it but please know that you are in my heart as are all my dear cousins today and always😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

