Hummingbird Cake for my Hubby🎂

img_2982

This past weekend was my Husband’s Birthday.. Plus we had lots to celebrate being with my darling grandchildren and both my Daughters so I decided to make this special cake for all of them!! It’s a very old recipe common in the south and I made it several times while we were living in North Carolina as a young couple. ❤️ I just came across the recipe again in one of my favorite old cookbooks “Southern Living” and decided to try it once more. I rememberd it being unbelievably moist and delicious, it didn’t disappoint…It’s called a “Hummingbird Cake”, a pineapple – banana spice cake with pecans throughout and luscious cream cheese frosting. The spices are just right for a autumn special occasion! Happy Birthday my Dear Paulie…. so glad we are all home and healthy😘
3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 teasp salt
1 teasp baking soda
1 teasp cinnamon
3 large eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
1 1/2 teasps vanilla extract
1 (8-ounce) can crushed pineapple, undrained
2 cups bananas, about 3 medium chopped small
1 cup chopped pecans

Whisk together flour and next 4 ingredients in a large bowl; add eggs and oil, stirring just until all moistened. Now stir in vanilla, pineapple, bananas and 1 cup chopped pecans. Pour batter into 2 well-greased and floured 9-inch round cake pans evenly.

Bake at 350° for 25-35 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes our clean. Cool cakes on wire racks for 10 minutes then remove cakes from pans to wire racks, and cool completely (about 1 hour).

Once cakes are cold, place 1 cake layer on a serving platter. Spread 1 cup Cream Cheese Frosting over cake bottom layer, top with second cake layer and spread frosting over top layer, frosting top and sides of cake with remaining frosting. Arrange pecan halves in a circular pattern over top of cake if desired.🎂

Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe:

2 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 cup butter, softened
2 (16-ounce) package powdered sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Beat cream cheese and butter at medium-low speed until smooth. Gradually add sugar, beating at low speed until blended. Stir in vanilla. Increase speed to medium-high, and beat 1 to 2 minutes until fluffy….Then lick the beaters and enjoy❤️

fullsizerender-4

6 Comments Add yours

  1. run2kar says:

    …and for all those reasons and many, many more .. it was a Happy Birthday! All the way. (The cake was so moist and delicious)

    Like

  2. Legacy Cook says:

    Hi, Karen! I’m going to follow you ’cause I’m also a Karen who has posted my hummingbird recipe. I’ve made some minor changes in it, so you might want to check out my recipe. However, I’m just today learning to blog and have no experience with social media sites, so pay no attention to the looks of my site, please. I’ll eventually get it. Your site looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you Karen for following me… I love to cook and have had such a wonderful time sharing my recipes this past year! You will have fun as you go along and get better at it all, Good Luck! I will follow you along also❤ I’m still New at this also so just do what you love….Happy New Year☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Legacy Cook says:

        Karen, I didn’t mean to ignore your messages–I just hadn’t discovered until now how to respond to them. I wanted to say that your site is my favorite on the web. Beautiful! Plus, you make the same things I’ve made. By the way, in the US, we call your squash dish “Plantation Squash”–not to our credit, of course!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. kmuccigrosso says:

        Thank you so Karen! I’m just new at this too and still learning, I don’t have a lot of time to spend learning how it all works but I try new things as I go!! Take your time it’s more fun that way❤

        Like

  3. Legacy Cook says:

    Oh, by the way, Karen, I forgot to tell you that “Karen’s Kitchen” was my name for my jelly crafting business. I sold those at the state forts in north-central WV.
    Karen Louden

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

