‘Tis the Season 🎄

img_3217img_3230img_3229

It’s Holiday time and it has always been a very special time for me! Each year I get out my wonderfully old antique pizzelle iron that once was my dear grandmother’s, she gave it to me when I was first married so that I could continue to make her cookies…the most delicious thin crispy pizzelles you’ll ever taste. As a young girl, I remember her using that iron every Holiday and I was always asking if I could help, I probably ate more cookies than I actually made! Those weren’t the only cookies we made but they have to be by far my very favorite. Cucidati, Italian chocolate, Biscotti, Gingerbread, Cutouts and even orange or lemon Ricotta drop cookies, just some of the cookies that I remember making with her and my mom, I smile every time I think of it! As the years went by I got married and moved away I used to try to make a lot of those cookies but it was overwhelming, not to mention fattening, so these last few years I just try to make one of the old recipe cookies beside my pizzelles, Makes everything just alittle more special! This year I made the Italian Ricotta cookie with orange zest, they are amazingly moist with a hint of orange flavor just as I remember. You won’t be sorry, try them❤️

But for right now I want to wish you all wonderful memories, a very Merry Christmas and a glorious New Year. I’m off to celebrate the holidays with my beloved grandchildren to make more memories. Stay warm🎄

 

Italian Ricotta Cookies

1/2 lb. butter
2 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 lb. Ricotta (whole milk)
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla (anise flavoring if you choose)
Grated rind of 1 lg. orange
4 1/2 c. flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda

Directions:
Cream butter; add sugar and continue creaming. Add egg, Ricotta and vanilla…beat well. Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt… add to creamed batter and stir in orange rind.
Drop about a teaspoon of dough on ungreased baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake at 350 degree oven about 8 to 10 minutes until edges are lightly browned. Cool before frosting.

FROSTING:
2 c. confectionery sugar
1/4 c. butter
3 tbsp. milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla or orange juice if desired

Mix well and frost top of cookies.
Keep cookies in an airtight container in refrigerator, keeps them moist!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandra Monacelli McNall says:

    So great to see all your posts,Karen. Love them.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you Sandi for following me along, I love doing it❤️ Hope this finds you all well, please hug them for me and have a wonderful Christmas!❌❌⭕️⭕️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. run2kar says:

    For those of us who you love so much, you have been wishing us a Merry Christmas in so many cherished ways ….. Food, fun, hugs, kisses – the very fabric of our blessed life and the sustaining memories we have to warm us as your family. And as all things are from you, each is made from love. Treat your families to these Christmas cookies and begin perhaps a new tradition and memory for your own family. Merry Christmas!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you my Darling❤️

      Like

  3. Diane Davis says:

    I’m going to bake this tonight. Cant wait they sound delicious.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Diane, Thank you so much for following me along,I am loving sharing! Enjoy it! Good luck with the cookies…hope they turn out well, they really are delicious❤️ Hope this finds you well & happy and I truly wish you a very Merry Christmas and a glorious New Year.

      Like

    2. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much Diane , I hope they turned out delicious!! Happy Holidays❤

      Like

  4. Jenny Jolly says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your familia. I am looking for your amazing antipasti recipe.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much Jenny! Which antipasti recipe? Just let me know and I’ll send it to you😘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

