Fresh Raw Rhubarb Cake😋

It was my pleasure to accept some freshly picked Rhubarb the other day from a dear friend of ours…he knows I love it!! But with the Rhubarb came a copy of an old recipe from his 93yr old neighbor. I see that the recipe came from a long ago farmers magazine and the hand written notes on the paper were endearing to me so I decided to make it!! It’s simple but scrumptious and now I know why she made it for all these years…Thank you Irene for sharing it with me, as long as there is Rhubarb out there I will continue on with your recipe😘

IMG_3708IMG_3712

Cake:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon real vanilla

1 cup Milk

1 teaspoon vinegar

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

4 cups of Rhubarb, cleaned and chopped

Topping:

1/4 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Combine the milk & vinegar and allow it to stand aside while you cream the butter & brown sugar together. Now add the egg to the creamed mixture and blend well, then add in the milk-vinegar mix and the vanilla, blend. Finish with the dry ingredients… the flour, salt and baking soda and mix well. Add in the raw Rhubarb and just stir to distribute it evenly within the batter. Pour into a well greased 9×13 baking pan. Prepare the topping by combining the sugar, cinnamon and nuts, sprinkle it over the surface of the batter as you like. Bake @ 350 degrees for approximately 40 mins. Testing middle with toothpick for doneness! Serve warm with a little vanilla ice cream…its delicious❤️

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Without a doubt I want this now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much girls! Try the recipe it’s really moist and delicious❤️ Thanks for visiting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE Rhubarb! YUM ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much! I love it too that’s why they always bring it to me when the season comes around! This recipe is simple but so moist and delicious, you’d love it!!! Thanks for visiting❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. run2kar says:

    More than a dessert …. this is a welcoming to spring and all of the new, fresh flavors that await us. Enjoy this dessert. Bravo.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I immediately bookmarked your post. I LOVE rhubarb but have never tried this cake. It looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing this. I hope to be sweet-talking a relative out of some rhubarb this weekend, and I’ll let you know how the cake-making goes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much! I look forward to hearing how it comes out❤️ Please keep following along and see what I’m up to next…I’m loving looking at your pics,Iover of old movies too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have never baked with rhubarb. Have read thru recipe can’t wait to try it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Well enjoy!!! I make rubaurb applesauce also and it’s wonderful, you would love it❤️ You’ll find the recipe on my blog… Thank you for visiting

      Like

Leave a Reply

