My Surprize Birthday in NYC

This year I celebrated one of those huge birthdays, normally the number doesn’t matter at all to me but this year it seemed to be a little different. I’m finally feeling my age…. my joints aren’t like they used to be, I finally see those wrinkles and even though my mind wants to keep going all day, 10:30pm seems to be my limit! Could I be getting old😕… Trying to make me feel better, my darling Husband, my beautiful daughters and their families, traveling from two different parts of the country, all got together and made my world so much brighter!!!! They took me on an adventure I will never forget!! NEW YORK CITY❤️ I wish we could have fit in every single site the city has (maybe next time😋) but what we did was so wonderful, I can’t even recite all of it!

Our hotel was wonderfully quaint and relaxing, that first night we had a room party with champagne, food and decorations and then took a evening stroll listening to all the hustle and bustle on the streets. Our next day was sooooo very full I can’t believe that we did it all….we went to the Central Park ZOO for my sweet grandchildren, to a Chelsea delicatessen and had a scrupulous bagel with kalamata olive cream cheese like a regular New Yorker, walked down 5th Ave. and shopped, went through 30 Rock, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Grand Central Station and The Plaza Hotel. We had some authentic NYC pizza on 42nd st. and we even went to a city McDonald’s with my grandson Bryce for his McNuggets😃…..But a absolute dream of mine was going to “Eataly” a enormous Italian marketplace in the heart of New York started by chef idols of mine Lydia Bastianich and Mario Batali❤️. Upon walking through the doors it took my breath away, the aromas were unmistakable, the cases of freshly baked breads & pastries, cheeses, olives, meats and fresh pastas were endless. The rows of olive oils, dried pasta, jarred sauces and the fresh veggies were just beautiful to look at…It was overwhelming!

Finally we did settled down to have dinner after sharing wine & appetizers of some of their dried meats, cheeses, olives and jams, we all chose to have homemade pasta that was to die for, simple, rich and fresh…. It was delectable!!! We couldn’t leave there without dessert, the Gelato, Cannoli’s and Nutella were calling us so we endulged a little and left very satisfied with both our stomaches and bags too full.

Spending those 3 days enjoying myself with my children and grandchildren in that glorious city was a memory that I won’t soon forget and I thank the Lord for keeping us all safe and healthy so we can do it again someday.

Lastly, I just want to say thank you to my wonderful children, Andrea & David and Alicia & Christopher for sharing your time with me and for going through all the efforts to get yourselves to NYC. It all means so much to me❤️ You are the lights in my life, I miss you everyday and I look forward to the next time we are all together again ❌❌⭕️⭕️ And to my Dear Paul, I’ve loved you for close to 40yrs now. I just want to thank you for helping me raise these incredible women, for loving & caring for me and for keeping me safe. You guys hit this one out of the park❤️

FullSizeRender

IMG_3474FullSizeRender 2IMG_3571IMG_3598IMG_3576IMG_3579IMG_3536IMG_3589

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Alicia says:

    ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sunflowejen4 says:

    How wonderful Karen! Such fun times. Happy Belated Birthday 🎉 🎂😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much! It was glorious❤️ Hope you all are well❌❌⭕️⭕️

      Like

  3. ksbeth says:

    wow, and happy birthday, karen –

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much!! I am blessed❤️

      Like

  4. Maria Bosies says:

    Sounds absolutely wonderful Karen! Thank you for describing your adventure… I could almost smell the pasta and could picture the places you visited. I haven’t been to Eataly but I’m putting that on my list of places to visit next time I’m in the Big Apple! A belated very happy birthday to you! Hugs and kisses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you Maria! It was amazing!! Hugs and Kisses to you❌❌⭕️⭕️

      Like

  5. Elaine says:

    Wow! Sounds like a love filled and scrumptious trip. So glad you were all able to put lives on hold to celebrate your birthday! Gotta check out Eataly…yum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you Elaine! I love my girls❤️Hope this finds you well😍

      Like

  6. Tina Canali says:

    WOWEE! CUGINA! You certainly are one BLESSED woman! Thank you sharing your NYC and Birthday journey with me! EATALY is NOW definitely on my bucket list!
    LOVE YOU!
    Tina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thanks Tina!!! It was amazing and yes I am blessed❤️😘

      Like

  7. Invisibly Me says:

    This trip sounds incredible, and unforgettable. Happy Belated Birthday! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much! It was glorious❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  8. How beautiful! Thank you for sharing and happy belated birthday!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much! I really did feel special, I am blessed❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You sound like such a warm and kind person. We need more people like you in this world. Have a great weekend! ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. kmuccigrosso says:

        Oh Thank you so much! I do realize I’m very blessed and try to remember that every day❤️ Again thank you for the kind words … You have a wonderful day!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

