Our Olde Apple TreešŸŽ

August & September in WNY has some of the most beautiful weather in the nation, itā€™s still warm but the humidity has lessened, the breezes are lovely and the nights are coolerā˜ŗļø The trees are still green but there are a few hues of color changes showing, Fall is coming!!! My little back yard is basically a small forest, full of beautifully alive green and dreadfully gray dead looking treesā€¦. this has to be one of my favorite seasons! Iā€™ve been told that long ago it was an old Apple Orchard and amazingly scattered throughout all theses trees are still some old gnarly Apple trees that still produce fruits šŸŽā€¦.

Recently my sweet grand babies came for a visit and one afternoon my daughter, granddaughter & I went for a walk along the forest, she was so sweet and excited to pick some of the apples, so we did!!! Iā€™m sad that I never got a picture of her on the ladder up in the tree dropping down all her finds to me, we had such fun šŸ¤© you can see some of our stashā€¦

Once we came in the house we had to decide what we were going to make with the applesā€¦ we started some applesauce but Paigey gave up on me half way and said, ā€œMimi you make it and Iā€™ll eat itšŸ˜†ā€ as she ran out to go play, so I did continue and then decided to make an old apple bread recipe that I found in my recipe boxā€¦ I canā€™t give credit to anyone for the recipe because itā€™s not signed but I decided to make it anyway, it was delicious, must be why I kept it!!

Here it isā€¦.

Amazing Apple Bread

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • Ā½ cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup full fat sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 to 3 cups apples, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 Ā½ teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Ā½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees & Grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan.
  2. Beat sugar, eggs, oil and vanilla into a mixing bowl; stir in sour cream and apples.
  3. Mix flour, salt, baking powder, cinnamon & nutmeg in a separate bowl; add to apple mixture and stir just till evenly combined. Pour batter into the prepared loaf pan.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes. Cover loaf pan loosely with aluminum foil; continue baking until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 15 to 30 minutes more if needed. Cool in the pan for 10/15 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.

No one enjoyed this visit more than I and Iā€™ll never look at those old apple trees the same againšŸŽ Looking forward to many more fun times like thisā€¦Enjoy every minute everyone!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Such an enjoyable experience. The cake looks beautiful. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much ChefšŸ„°

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Run2Kar says:

    Great food, great fun, great memories … all!

    Like

Leave a comment