Plum Berry Galette with Puff Pastry

IMG_3845IMG_3844So many people have asked for this recipe that I figured I better sit down and write!! This is called a Galette which is just simply a one Crust, Freeform sort of pie, it can be made sweet or savory but the key is putting things together that come out delicious❤️ This Fourth of July my version of this tasty French treat is sweet and yummy… a red white and blue scrumptious mix fit into a puff pastry dough! Very fitting with a cup of coffee after a delightful fireworks display. I hope your Forth🇺🇸 was lovely and you got to relax and enjoy your day as much as I did!! Really, If you do try this recipe I’d love to hear from you on what you made and how it came out… I’m always willing to try new combinations, enjoy😎

 

Puff pastry (1 storebought sheet thawed) or home made recipe
2 soft red plums, pitted and sliced thin
2 pts. Red raspberries plus part of 1 pint of Blueberries for topping
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 tbsp cornstarch
1 cinnamon sugared graham cracker, crumbled into fine crumbs
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 to 2 tbsps of  butter (cubed small)
1 egg beaten (for egg wash)

Preheat your oven to 350degrees

Add thin sliced plums, raspberries, sugar, cornstarch and cinnamon to a bowl and mix gently with hands (the raspberries will probably fall apart but that’s ok)
Roll out your puff pastry on a lightly floured surface to about 1/4in thick
Place pastry onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and add graham crumbs to the center area of the dough where you will be putting the fruit mixture.
Place fruit mixture onto pastry arranging the fruit in an even layer about 1/2in to 1in from the edge and then fold sides up and gather the crust around the fruit. Lastly place as many fresh blueberries as you like all over top of plum, rasp. fruit mix. Then brush egg wash onto the edges of the dough and sprinkle some sugar onto those edges. Before putting it into the oven place cut butter onto fruit mix randomly and then place in oven. Bake for about 30 minutes until edges are golden and fruit is bubbling. Once done let Galette cool for a few mins. on sheetpan out of oven, then carefully slide it onto a cooling rack to cool completely. Dust with a little confectioners sugar before serving, everyone will love it😋 Bravo!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina Canali says:

    Oh my goodness! Well first of all, anything with Puff Pastry is DELICIOUS! Right Karen~?? This just looks divine and really is simple. I am gong to make it for a dinner party that we are hosting when my Cesarini (my Mom’s side of the familia) Cugino’s come to town next Saturday night……thanks so much Karen, will let you know how it turns out!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Tina, thank you so much! Good luck with the dinner and I hope all turns out fabulous❤️ Let me know how it goes😘

      Like

      1. Tina Canali says:

        You got it Cugina! ARE YOU & PAUL GOING TO THE REUNION? I might just be showing up on Sunday~

        Liked by 1 person

      2. kmuccigrosso says:

        Tina yes we will be there, Nana and Ann are staying with us❤️Hope to see you.

        Like

  2. run2kar says:

    When you were making this, the aroma throughout this house was amazing! A delicious dessert that satisfies on so many levels !!!! Those of you following who make this for your loved ones will have them “eating out of your hand … and the plate on which this dessert will sit”.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chefkreso says:

    Saving the recipe, can’t wait to try it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thanks so much! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did❤️

      Like

  4. Plum gallette, I have visions of me eating it with custard….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kmuccigrosso says:

    Thank you !! That does sound delicious…it was eaten so fast at my house I never did have a chance to try it with anything❤️ Please try it and let me know!!

    Like

  6. Karen, that looks delicious! The photo is amazing. 🙂 Hope you have a really good weekend. I love the picture that goes with your name – you have a great smile. Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kmuccigrosso says:

      Thank you so much Debbie!! Most days I feel very Blessed hence my smile❤️You have a wonderful weekend as well!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment